ALBERT KARAZIWAN

His journey and experience

Founder and Chairman of Semlex Group, Albert Karaziwan is a member of successful international companies. Belgium remains at the center of its activities, both in the real estate sector and in the field of biometric identification. This prolific businessman shows an attachment to the African continent. A particular interest for Africa that he demonstrates through his charitable works, then through his professional commitments to these countries.

Albert Karaziwan supports the Hougoumont Foundation

Passionate about history, Albert Karaziwan wanted to contribute to the restoration project of this historic farm through Semlex, which has joined the donors of the Hougoumont Foundation. The place is open to visits all year round, and is part of the Waterloo Memorial.

The last authentic witness of the Battle of June 18, 1815, this historic farmhouse hosts an unprecedented multimedia installation that tells the story of “battle in battle”: a show that combines respect for memory and innovation.

The Hougoumont Farm was the scene of deadly fighting. Advanced position that protected the right wing of the allies, it is here that the brother of Napoleon triggered the action. What was originally to be a diversionary maneuver became the most violent point of the battle. Throughout the day, the French assaults were terrible and vain. The main building was burned. The house that we see today is actually the old house of the gardener.

 

SEMLEX

Albert Karaziwan founded Semlex Europe in 1992. Over the years, Semlex has become an international leader in the development and production of secure identification documents through biometrics. Semlex has developed the ORBIS Identification and Authentication System, designed to prevent identity frauds. This biometric identification system is among the most reliable existing. Many countries have resorted to it in Europe, America and Africa.

Semlex has provided secure biometric passports for several countries around the world (https://www.semlex.com/clients/). Also, every year, Semlex participates in ICAO Symposia that promote international cooperation and aim to strengthen airport security and standardization of aviation regulations and standards. civil. In fact, reliable identity and travel documents play a crucial role in airport security.

Fingerprints are recorded and compared (1: n and 1: 1) by the ORBIS system, which centralizes all the biometric data. Semlex ensures the implementation of the networked system, which centralizes the data related to the identification of each citizen, and thus allows the creation of any identity document. Other biometric identifiers (facial recognition, iris …) can also be used, depending on the client’s choice. The firm is as well specialized in the creation of biometric passports as well as in the design and manufacture of identification documents such as visas, driver’s licenses and work permits.

Globally, Albert Karaziwan and his company Semlex  have emerged as the world’s number one manufacturer and distributor of biometric identity documents. It has a single biometric system network that provides highly reliable results to identity document holders. Working hand in hand with the authorities, Semlex strives to provide optimal-quality documents that meet international standards. Moreover, Semlex provides its customers with documents containing a real barrier against identity fraud. The risks of identity theft are therefore reduced and the security of the member countries is strengthened.

The future is already here with the biometric identification system by Semlex. Called ORBIS for “Organization for Biometric Identification System”, it extends over a wide range of applications: management and centralization of the biometric data of individuals, attribution of a unique identifier for each person (useful when creating any new identity document), management of the list of fraudsters through the information system for passports, national identity cards, drivers license, resident cards … ORBIS is therefore the essential solution for the good management of any modern State.

His commitment for the Comores

The Comoros Islands selected Semlex in 2008 and again in 2018 for the preparation of national documents. A relationship of trust has therefore been established, born of good communication between the country and Semlex, and the smooth running of the proposed solutions.

As it is his favorite destination, where he takes breaks, Albert Karaziwan has also invested in rural development projects in the Comoros.

Photo plage île de la réunion
Photo des cinq terres en Italie

Enamored with the archipelago’s beauty yet moved by the lack of infrastructure and the precarious conditions in which the citizens live – including shortages in water, electricity, fuel and food – Karaziwan decided to act. The director of the company and his team constructed a water treatment station, for free, a symbolic gesture greatly appreciated by the representatives of the island of Moheli. The solutions is also ecologic as is runs on solar power. Giving the residents of Moheli drinking water was a promise for the future; a priceless gift so very appreciated by this African country in need.

On April 14, 2014 a ceremony took place on the island of Moheli, located in the Djanbo region, to inaugurate the facility. Mrs. Hadidja Aboubacar, the First Lady of the Comoros, was in attendance and accompanied by the Governor of Moheli. Other politicians were also present on this unique and happy day for the village of Mlabanda. Mohtar Hamdane, the President of the water management organization, made an appearance, and Albert Karaziwan delivered a speech advocating the values and beliefs he and his company Semlex deeply espouse. The belgian businessman wants to become more involved with the Comoros in the future and to finance funds useful to the population.

Photo plage île de la réunion

Values and Commitments

~

The people’s security

Albert Karaziwan wants, above all, to ensure people are safe, specifically in Africa. He acts to develop and protect agreements between the continents and the governments. Facilitating intra-community relations and helping populations awaiting vital help is one of the Semlex CEO’s commitments. Its contributions to Interpol’s annual general assemblies also have this aim. Preventing identity fraud and increasing security in countries are also Albert Karaziwan’s goals, this man with multiple entrepreneurial talents. And it is through leveraging his skills in biometrics, in large part, that he intends to thwart the risks that could compromise and undermine each citizen’s security.

Actions for the environnement 

Albert Karaziwan is interested in ecology and therefore aims to reduce the environmental impact of his companies on the planet. This is why Semlex has integrated the ISO quality and environmental policy and thus meets the ISO 27001: 2013 standards. The company on a daily basis, is careful to emit little waste, encourages recycling, and has installed a biological garden on the roofs of its head office. The roofs of the Semlex technical site are equipped with photovoltaic panels to provide the building with solar energy, for an ever more ecological approach, optimizing the energy performance of the offices.

The respect of the human being

Supporting others, respect for the human, are values that are dear to Albert Karaziwan. He encourages exchange and teamwork within his companies. By taking into account everyone’s needs, society achieves both greater returns and more fulfillment. Semlex project managers are thus the guarantors of productive and rewarding teamwork, and ensure that objectives are achieved. Throughout the project, focus meetings are conducted to resolve potential issues and move forward as a team.

ALBERT KARAZIWAN

Son parcours, son expérience

Fondateur et président du groupe Semlex, Albert Karaziwan est membre de multiples sociétés au succès mondial. La Belgique reste au centre de ses activités, aussi bien dans le secteur immobilier que dans le domaine de l’identification biométrique. Cet entrepreneur se montre empreint d’un attachement au continent africain. Un intérêt particulier pour l’Afrique qu’il démontre à travers les œuvres caritatives dont il est l’auteur, puis de par ses engagements professionnels auprès de ces pays.

Albert Karaziwan soutient la Fondation Hougoumont

Passionné d’histoire, Albert Karaziwan a voulu contribuer au projet de restauration de cette ferme historique à travers Semlex, qui a rejoint les donateurs de la Fondation Hougoumont. Le lieu est ouvert aux visites toute l’année, et fait partie du Mémorial de Waterloo.

Dernier témoin authentique de la Bataille du 18 juin 1815, cette ferme historique accueille une installation multimédia inédite qui raconte l’histoire de « la bataille dans la bataille » : un spectacle qui associe le respect de la mémoire et l’innovation.

 

 La Ferme d’Hougoumont fut le cadre de combats meurtriers. Position avancée qui protégeait l’aile droite des alliés, c’est à cet endroit que le frère de Napoléon déclencha l’action. Ce qui ne devait être, au départ, qu’une manœuvre de diversion, est devenu le point le plus violent de la bataille. Durant toute la journée, les assauts français y furent terribles et vains. Le corps de logis fut incendié. La maison que l’on voit aujourd’hui est en réalité l’ancienne maison du jardinier.

Hougoumont Semlex 

 

 

La société SEMLEX

Albert Karaziwan fonde Semlex Europe en 1992. Au fil des années, Semlex devient leader international dans le développement et la réalisation de documents à l’identification sécurisée grâce à la biométrie. Semlex a développé le Système d’identification et d’authentification ORBIS, visant à éviter toutes fraudes identitaires. Ce système d’identification biométrique compte parmi les plus fiables existants. Nombreux sont les pays y ayant recouru en Europe, en Amérique et en Afrique.

Semlex a fourni des passeports biométriques sécurisés pour plusieurs pays à travers le monde (https://www.semlex.com/clients/) . Aussi, chaque année, la société Semlex participe aux Symposiums de l’OACI qui promeuvent la coopération internationale et visent à renforcer la sécurité aéroportuaire ainsi que l’uniformisation des réglementations et des normes de l’aviation. civile. En effet, des documents d’identité et de voyage fiables jouent un rôle crucial dans la sécurité des aéroports.

 

Les empreintes digitales sont enregistrées et mises en comparaison (1:n et 1:1) par le système ORBIS, qui centralise l’ensemble des données biométriques.  Semlex assure la mise en place du système en réseau, qui centralise les données rattachées à l’identification de chaque citoyen, et permet ainsi la création de tout document d’identité. D’autres identifiants biométriques (reconnaissance faciale, de l’iris…) peuvent également être utilisés, selon le choix du client.

De manière globale, Albert Karaziwan a érigé le groupe Semlex  comme producteur numéro 1 de documents d’identité biométriques. La société a créé un système biométrique en réseau unique offrant aux détenteurs de documents identitaires un résultat fiable. Travaillant main dans la main avec les autorités, Semlex s’engage à fournir des produits, à la qualité optimale, conformes aux normes internationales. Plus encore, Semlex propose à ses clients des documents possédant une réelle barrière anti-fraude identitaire. Les risques d’usurpation d’identité sont donc fortement réduits. La sécurité des pays, par extension, se trouve renforcée.

Le système d’identification biométrique de Semlex s’inscrit d’ores et déjà dans le futur. Appelé ORBIS pour “ORganisation for Biometric Identification System”, Organisation pour système d’identification biométrique,  il s’étend sur un large champ d’applications: gestion et centralisation des données biométriques des individus, attribution d’un identifiant unique pour chaque personne (utile lors de la création de tout nouveau document d’identité), gestion de la liste des fraudeurs à travers le système d’information autant pour les passeports, les cartes nationales d’identité, permis de conduire, cartes de résident… ORBIS s’inscrit ainsi comme la solution incontournable pour la bonne gestion de tout Etat moderne.

Engagement aux îles Comores

Les îles Comores ont sélectionné Semlex en 2008 puis à nouveau en 2018 pour la confection des documents nationaux. Une relation de confiance s’est donc installée, née d’une bonne communication entre le pays et Semlex, et du bon fonctionnement des solutions proposées.

Les Comores sont une destination de prédilection du directeur belge, où il s’octroie des temps de pauses. Albert Karaziwan y a par ailleurs investi dans des projets de développement ruraux.

Photo plage île de la réunion
Photo des cinq terres en Italie

Épris par la beauté de l’archipel mais aussi ému par le manque d’infrastructures et les conditions précaires dans lesquelles la population vit – pénuries en eau, électricité, essence, alimentation – Albert Karaziwan a décidé d’agir. Une station d’épuration a alors été mise en place, à titre gracieux, par le directeur de l’entreprise et son équipe, un geste symbolique fort apprécié par les représentants de l’île de Mohéli, hautement reconnaissants. L’installation est également écologique, fonctionnant grâce à l’énergie solaire. Faire bénéficier les habitants de Mohéli d’eau potable : une belle promesse pour l’avenir, un cadeau sans prix bienvenu dans cet archipel.

C’est à l’île de Mohéli, située dans la région de Djanbo, que s’est déroulée la cérémonie, le 14 avril 2014. Une inauguration en présence de Madame Hadidja Aboubacar, la première Dame des Comores, accompagnée du gouverneur de Mohéli. D’autres politiciens marquèrent également leur présence en ce jour  unique et joyeux pour le village Mlabanda : le président de l’organisation pour la gestion de l’eau Mohtar Hamdane fit une apparition. Albert Karaziwan y donna un discours prônant ses valeurs et convictions auxquelles lui et sa société Semlex croient profondément. L’homme d’affaire belge souhaite à l’avenir s’engager davantage auprès des Comores et financer des fonds utiles à la population.

Photo plage île de la réunion

Valeurs et engagements

~

La sécurité des peuples

Avec Semlex, l’homme d’affaires bruxellois veut avant toute chose garantir la sécurité des peuples, en Afrique spécifiquement. Ses actions sont là pour développer, protéger les échanges entre les continents et les gouvernements. Faciliter les relations intra-communautaires et aider les populations en attente d’une aide vitale, voilà l’un des engagements du PDG de Semlex. La contribution aux assemblées générales annuelles d’Interpol va dans ce sens. Prévenir la fraude identitaire, accroître la sécurité dans les pays, voilà la volonté d’Albert Karaziwan, l’homme aux multiples talents d’entrepreneur. Et c’est grâce à ses compétences dans les domaines de la biométrie, en grande partie, qu’il compte déjouer les risques pouvant compromettre et porter atteinte à la sécurité de chaque citoyen.

  L’écologie

Albert Karaziwan s’intéresse de près à l’écologie et vise donc à minimiser l’impact environnemental de ses sociétés sur la planète. C’est pourquoi Semlex a intégré la politique ISO en matière de qualité et environnement et répond ainsi aux normes ISO 27001:2013. La société au quotidien, veille a émettre peu de déchets, encourage le recyclage, et a installé un potager sur les toits de son siège social. Les toits du site de technique de Semlex sont quant à eux équipés de panneaux photovoltaïques afin de fournir le bâtiment en énergie solaire, pour une approche toujours plus écologique, optimisant ainsi la performance énergénique des bureaux.  

Le respect de l’humain

Appuyer autrui, le respect de l’humain, ce sont des valeurs qui lui sont chères. Albert Karaziwan encourage ainsi l’échange et le travail d’équipe au sein de ses sociétés. En prenant en compte les besoins de chacun, la société arrive à la fois à plus de rendements et à plus d’épanouissement. Les chefs de projets Semlex sont ainsi les garants d’un travail d’équipe productif et enrichissant, et veillent à ce que les objectifs soient atteints. Tout au long du projet, des réunions de mise au point sont menées afin de régler les éventuels problèmes en équipe.